gel•setter™ top coat - nail care solutions

gel•setter™

gel.like color and shine

jet-setters need solid, go-getter shine that works as hard as they do. essie gel•setter™ tops any of your favorite essie colors with all the cushy, rock-hard shine of a gel, in a foolproof formula for at home manis and pedis. DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free


essie looks and nail art
<
>

essie scoops
<
>

#essielovefrom our biggest fans

gel•setter™ is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 280.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm never using gel with a light again! After over a year of gel manicures, my nails suffered from peeling and breaking. I gave them a month with just repair polish and they finally healed, but I wanted the look and durability of the gel polish.When I heard about Essie gel.setter, I knew I had to get my hands on it. Essie never disappoints, and I had high hopes for this product. I'm still not disappointed.I applied Essie Fill the Gap and waited for that to dry. While it dries quickly, it was almost an hour before I applied my color (I was busy cleaning, cooking and caring for my one year old). I put on two coats of color, waiting about five or so minutes between coats. After my polish dried (I did the tapping of my two thumbs together test to see if they stuck together). I applied the gel.setter. A couple things about application.Use a thin coat. It doesn't need to be super thick in order to work, and actually, thinner is better as it dries fasterWhen applying gel polish, I learned I had to "cap" my nail which means you have to run the brush along the free edge of your nail to apply the gel product. This creates a nice seal so that the polish doesn't chip as easily. I did the same with this and I think that helped a lot.If you happen to knick your color coat, when you apply the gel.setter, it actually smooths it out! (bonus!!)I got almost two weeks out of my manicure which is exactly what I would have gotten from a salon manicure or one I did myself. Here are the pictures- day 1 and day 9. I'm kicking myself for not taking pictures before I took my polish off. There was chipping on my index, middle and thumb, but that didn't happen till day 11. By day 9, the luster had vanished, but I didn't reapply gel.setter at all after the first day, so I'm not too surprised about that.Overall, I'm thrilled with gel.setter. My nail polish didn't chip till day 11 but even better, my actual nails didn't chip AT ALL which always happens once the polish chips away.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short self life This top coat allows the polish under it to dry in record speeds and it provides lasting shine. However, after about a month of regular use, the top coat has become a nightmare to work with, and tends to pull strings like drying hot glue and has gotten considerably thicker in consistency...
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Top Coat I have been using this top coat for about 2 months. I have been waiting to write a review on this top coat until I had the opportunity to give it a true test and let me just say how absolutely amazing this top coat is!!! If gives more shine than anything I have ever used, seems as though it seals all coats together, and makes a mani last!! I am hard on my nails and even the best top coats only make my mani last a few days. With this, I can easily get a full week out with no major chips or wear, and it still shines! It does take a bit of time to dry, but totally worth it! Also gives the look of gel without the hassle!
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my at home manicures I was a regular salon goer for years and had had been getting gel manicures for about 2 years. The gel manicures were destroying my nails so I started giving them a break by painting my own nails at home. Using regular top coats my nails would chip only after 2-3 days.I found gel.setter and I had to buy it. I've had gel.setter for about two months and it's amazing. My manicures last for a solid 7 days now with no chipping. I start by applying essie Grow Stronger base coat, 2 coats of polish, and then two coats of the gel.setter. I always make sure that I give the polish time to dry before applying the top coat. Application is easy, goes on thick and dries so quickly!!
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting shine and no chips I bought this on Sunday and today is Tuesday. I don't have a single chip, never smudged, no peeling, long lasting shine! My nails feel so hard too! I have many Essie polishes and coats, this is the best one out there. The polish dried very fast, no bubbles, no chips, no tacky/sticky feeling. I am very impressed with this top coat! It has a very gel-like look to it! I recommend this to anyone. So much cheaper than a gel mani and now I can do it at home as much as I want!!
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I purchased this product 5 days ago, it was very hard to find. Now I know why, Its long lasting, great shine. I have typed all day, gone swimming. my polish has not chipped it still looks great! Thank You finally a long lasting top coat for people who dont want to wear acrylic nails.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT what u expect After a few uses, I found that it creates bubbles; it's thready and the solution stretches out in thready lines (idk how to describe better than this); the solution is thick and it looks like u won't be able to use the bottom half portion of the bottle after using the first half. It doesn't dry quickly either. If u screw up a nail or don't cover the whole nail with what u have on the brush at the initial coating and put another coat on to fix it, it gets way too thick and ruins it. Even more, it peels off ur nails all at once. Not my best experience with Essie. Truly upset. Putting Essie as my fave on stake.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chipped after one day :( I was so excited when this product came out! I am disappointed it didn't do its job! I'm a nurse and with all the hand washing I can make my normal nail routine last a solid week. The gel setter top coat lasted one day and started flaking right off (color used was "first timer"). I'm going back to my old reliable Seche Vite top coat!
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Problems with ANY Polish All of the reported problems are easily remedied with just a few quick tricks/tips.1. It is quite thick. If you apply it as a thick coating you will surely get air bubbles, peeling, and smudging. Like I find with all Essie polish is try to get my first coat as thin as possible.2. Chipping. You should 'cap' ANY topcoat. I'm embarrassed to say I only just realized this. It is exactly what the technician does when you pay for a manicure.3. If the first coat is thin enough then you should definitely apply another coat--maybe even a few days later.
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great! Until it gets goopy... First of all, let me just say I love this topcoat.. for the first few uses. In my experience, this product got very goopy very fast. It's already such a thick formula, which is great for giving that thick gel layer, but once it gets any thicker it is just SO difficult to work with. I'm not a professional but I am quite good at painting my own nails and always have them done, but I just have had so much trouble getting this to spread anymore. It gonglomerates at the tips of my nails and is so hard to smooth out once the actual product in the bottle gets dry at all. Breaks my heart because I only got through less than half of the bottle!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Day 4 still perfect. Usually an at home mani lasts about 2 days for me before it starts chipping. So far I am on day 4 and they still look perfect. Here's to hoping that this holds up even longer.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game Changer Bought this and nails great days later. For those who got peeling/lifting make sure your polish is at least 50% dry. I'm on day 4 and still shining.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It I bought this top coat because I hate what gel polish and acrylics do to my nails. After I had my daughter I was actually able to grow them and have them look great but I could never get polish to last more than about 2 days with out wanting to redo them. With this top coat the shine stayed a whole week and when I found a small chip I quickly put another coat of the top coat and it lasted the rest of the week. Way better than regular polish and I don't feel like I am destroying my nails.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disapointed!! So I bought this some time ago and just came across that I can review it so here it is: I LOVE ESSIE! and all the colors they come out with so when I say that they were coming out with a gel polish that needed no lamp I was excited! When I finally bought and tried out I was disappointed in the fact that it didn't stay on long like a gel would normally, it started peeling the next day and not just pieces like the whole nail. I also thought it would dry a hard like a gel. I do like that it makes your nail color look nice and shiny and I'm sure this product could be improved to last longer. Still love Essie and will continue to buy!!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Greet shine, not so great wear I ran out as soon as I saw this advertised at Target. I was so excited my favorite nail polish brand had a gel top coat! I was pretty disappointed after I used it though. By the next day I already had a chip. I've used this twice now and have had the same results, chips by the second day. I will say that it gives my polish a great lasting shine (which I don't know if this is more of the point of this top coat) but I was expecting a longer wear time with use which unfortunately isn't the case.
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from great shine, NO longevity I bought this as a toluene-free replacement for Seche Vite. It's super shiny and easy to apply, does a really nice job leveling polish. However, the attached image is Gel Setter over Essie-Lights after only 18 hours of wear (including 7 hours spent sleeping). I'm rough on my hands, but Seche Vite allows my polish to last at least 3 days before chiping. Needless to say, I'm super disappointed. If I didn't already throw away the receipt, I'd bring it back.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Shine But That's About It I bought this about 2 months ago and I loved it initially because after getting engaged you want to keep your nails looks fabulous without the manicure price tag, but now the top coat is thick and pulls strings like a hot glue gun - and I'm about halfway through the bottle. I would love to return it if I could because I really liked the ease of applying the polish. When you first get it, it dries very quickly and smooths out any knicks in the polish but as it gets thicker it takes longer to dry. I think I am going to go back to using Good To Go which won't nearly give me the shine that Gel Setter does.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not ready for prime time Tried it twice and just can't recommend it. It didn't crack for me, but there were many visible air bubbles once dried that bothered me. It felt difficult to apply as well. The second time I tried it the color appeared highly uneven.I highly recommend good to go top coat instead. It's easy to apply and I can get a solid week of wear with it, if not longer. I'll be sticking with that one.Really bummed as I was excited about this one. Overpromised and under delivered.
Date published: 2015-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointment When I see the words "gel-setter" I think of a product that is going to make an at-home manicure last just like a salon gel manicure. Well, I was totally wrong. After doing my nails in the evening they were chipped by the very next morning and continued to chip all day. I followed the directions of application and used all Essie products. I feel this product is no different than your typical top coat. I would not purchase this product if I knew better.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great at first, but goes bad quickly When I first bought this I was really impressed because it went on so smoothly and dried so quickly, but now the top coat comes out so thick and pulls strings like a hot glue gun. It makes it really difficult to put om a smooth layer and I'm upset because I'm only halfway through the bottle. I wish it stayed nice the entire bottle but I probably won't be buying this again due to these issues.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I bought this when I were in New York 2 weeks ago, and I painted my nails before going on holiday to England. I used Essie's base coat and then two layers of Coctails & coconuts and then one layer of the Gel setter. That was three days ago and my nails are looking like I did them yesterday! The shine is amazing and it's so good! I would definitely recommend this product!!!
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just "meh" so far I'm not so impressed yet... This is the start of day 5 of Gelsetter. These cracks have slowly been appearing for the past 2 days. This shine is still good, but not as long lasting as I'd expect. I will give it another shot, maybe applying another coat a day or two after the first. But first impression is "meh". The one pro is that I didn't experience any shrinkage.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissapointed This top coat looks very pretty when first put on, though it doesn't last very long.Essie is too expensive to keep coming up with low quality top coats.Sally Hansen's Miracle Gel line is way better.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The shine that won't quit! I bought this gel top coat yesterday and tried it on quickly to see how well it worked, and I was blown away! The polish it self is extremely thick, but it drys fairly quick. The shine was amazing. I'm going to give myself a mani tonight after work just. I just bought a few new polishes and I'm excited to see this on all of my nails.
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this top coat! I take it with me to the salon and they put it on right over my nail polish, and it gives my nails a gel-like shine, with more protection too against chipping. I work with my hands everyday and somehow, even though I still have to be at least somewhat careful, I've managed to finish with barely any chips after 7 days. I'm just going to trim my nails and put another coat gel coat on top to freshen the shine and protection and I should be good for another week. And the best part is that you get all of that without the damag.e of true gel nail polish, even tho its definitely no replacement of that, but it is a cheaper alternative if you're a little careful
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! As someone who use to do my own gel nails at home until I developed an allergy to the light, this is a perfect alternative! It is so easy to use and provides great shine just like gel! Also, like others have mentioned the dry time is super quick! I always hated painting my nails at night because I would wake up with creases. However, I now paint them at night all the time and am crease free in the AM. Love it, great job Essie!
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chips like all others I am not one to write reviews but I was very excited to try Gel Setter - I have been looking for a nail polish that doesn't chip so easily. Yet, I was very disappointed with this product - the day after I used Gel Setter (with Essie polish as my color) 3 of my nails were chipped. The next day, that number increased to 5 nails. I do have to say that I was very impressed with how shiny my nails remained, even days after using the polish. I would not recommend this product or buy it again.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! I have been using this amazing top coat for 6 weeks, and it is the BEST I have ever found! It. Does. Not. Chip. It is super protective and long wearing, even after having my hands it water and doing yard work. My nails look super shiny and beautiful, even after a week. And they are growing longer and stronger than ever because they are not damaged by peeling polish taking a layer of nail with it. I put a new coat on every 1-2 days to add protection. And it dries quickly and with a hard finish that does not mark. I'm tossing all other products and switching to Essie exclusively, it's that good. Thank you!!
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long wearing and high shine! I love, love this product! I get about 5 days of chip free wear and occasionally longer. I have thin nails with ridges. I apply one coat each of Grow Stronger and Millionails, 2 coats of Essie polish and finish with a thick coat of Gel Setter. I do not wait to apply Gel Setter. I apply it immediately after my 10th nail. My nails are dry in minutes without any smudging. I do however use a spray nail dryer so I'm not sure how that affects the drying time. I will eliminate that step next time to see what happens. I've found that another coat after 2-3 days extends my manicure. This is what works for me and I've never had bubbles from using thick coats. I've been utilizing this method for about 6 weeks now and the result is always the same.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bubbles!! I have used to this now polish numerous times and it dries out so fast! Eight and sure to close the bottle tightly every time and now it's coming out like actual gel. It does look good when I manage to get it on but lately because the product itself is drying up there have been a lot of bubbles. I'm super bummed because this has great potential
Date published: 2015-11-23
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_280
  • loc_en_US, sid_34A40A64-9058-4C83-BA94-13A35EFC6B49, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_essie

ETHYL, ACETATE, ISOPROPYL, ALCOHOL, BUTYL ACETATE, CELLULOSE ACETATE BUTYRATE, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, TRIMETHYL PENTANYL DIISOBUTYRATE, TRIPHENYLPHOSPHATE, BENZOPHENONE-1, DIMETHICONE, CI 60725/ VIOLET 2. (D175067/1)

hello canadian #essielover!
were you looking for essie canada?

take me to essie.ca